Sunday, March 15, 2009

Oy Vey! Kosher Coke

Well, not really Kosher Coke technically, but Passover Coke. There are just a few short weeks during the year that you can find this Coke, which is made with sugar instead of corn syrup. There is a prohibition against corn and corn products during Passover, which will begin on April 9, 2009.

You can distinguish regular Passover Coke from Coke by the yellow top on the bottle. It usually only comes in the 2 litre bottles and several Coke products including Sprite, Dr. Pepper and Diet Coke are also available for about three to four weeks.


You can listen to a story on Passover Coke on NPR here. If you like Classic Coke, this is the closest thing you'll find! I got some today at Fresh Market at Quarry Lake on Greenspring Avenue. La'Chiam!

3 comments:

Jessica said...

We found some at Wegmans earlier this year- Love it!

Steve Rosenbach said...

Kosher-for-Passover soda has always been the true sign of Spring for me. You've provided the first sighting for this year...thanks!!

Best regards,
SteveR

P.S. - your sighting brings me unleavened joy. Oy!

Erin said...

Ah yes, Passover Coke - yet another food item I allow myself simply because it's kosher for passover. Fries? Check. Coke? Check. Ridiculous amounts of matzo pizza? Check. It's like college all over again...

Hope all's well!